Global Leadership Summit 2014

I had the privilege to attend the Global Leadership Summit for the third time this year. It was amazing. I can’t put the experience in words (although I’m going to try). In fact, I intended to summarize what each of the speakers said but fortunately my procrastination paid off and my mom found a site where “real bloggers” already did that! I HIGHLY recommend checking it out at www.wcablog.com . I instead included my favorite quotes, key ideas, things I want to read, and two reflection paragraphs for posterity. I hope this most makes sense to whoever might be reading it. 🙂

Quotes:

  • Leaders with the highest level of passion have the lowest level of awareness [towards the needs of others] – Bill Hybells
  • The wind howls but the mountain remains still – Japanese Proverb for the Power of Introverts (Susan Cain)
  • Forget networking. Focus on service. Ask others “How can I help”– Susan Cain
  • We tend to think there is only one way to do things, but that is a disservice to everyone. -Susan Cain
  • True leaders desire to sacrifice themselves for the good of others without knowing there will be any return on the investment- Patrick Lencioni
  • What you are is God’s gift to you, but what you become is your gift to God. – Hans Urs von Balthasar
  • Leaders change the order of things- Carly Fiorina
  • Everyone has more potential than they realize. –Carly Fiorina
  • True leadership requires faith. – Carly Fiorina
    Strategy predicates structure. – Carly Fiorina
  • There should never be a moment where any job is beneath you – Jeffery Immelt (paraphrase)
  • “It was always about the work not the position. Your peers ultimately decide how far you go.” – Immelt
  • It’s a leader’s job to make sure your employees love what they do – Immelt
  • You may question some of my decisions but I don’t want you to question my intentions.- Immelt
  • Leaders use humility with God’s resolve- Ivan Satvavrata
  • Your vocation can become a viable venue for the important things in life- Brian Loritts
  • God takes us as is, but never leaves us as is. Tim Keller
  • John Wesley lived off 28 pounds and gave away the rest his whole life.- Lorrits
  • Refuse the perks of your status- Lorrits
  • Any time you find yourself stuck, ask: what crucial conversation are we not holding? – Grenny
    If you don’t talk it out you will act it out.- Grenny
  • You can measure the success of a team by measuring the undiscussibles- Grenny
  • False: You have to chose between telling the truth and losing a friend. – Grenny
  • It didn’t make sense” (The problems in her organization) – Allen Catherine Kagina
  • You are anointed for what you do. – Kagina
  • We should systematically work to close the gap between our best and what we actually do in life. – Erica Ariel Fox
  • Think of yourself in plural.- Erica Ariel Fox
  • A company will not be more truthful or graceful than its leader.- Don Flow
  • Exercise faith, live love, bring hope. –Flow
  • Courage breeds creativity. – Wilfredo de Jesus
  • Move towards the need to fill the gaps- Wilfredo de Jesus.

Key ideas:

  • Truthful feedback, leader development, and legacy leaders
  • People produce better ideas than groups do. This has to do with conformity
  • Leadership is changing the order of things.
  • Have a leadership framework like Carly Fiorina’s so the components work harmoniously.
  • Necessity of central values to an organization
  • We are in a world of uncharted territory and we can’t turn back
  • Our strength and power as leaders comes from God
  • How much is enough?
  • The “Grander Vision” is based with God’s kingdom and vision for the world as the ideal 

Things to Read:

  • William Wilburforce (Wikipedia)
  • The Quiet Revolution http://www.quietrev.com
  • Quiet by Susan Cain
  • Crucial Conversations by Josepth Grenny (and others)
  • Winning from Within- Erica Ariel Fox
  • Simplify by Bill Hybells
  • Tough Choices by Carly Fiorina

My 2 big idea takeaways at this time in my life:

My grander vision may not be as grand as I think. I don’t need to do something flashy or at a large scale to lead and make a difference. Perhaps my vision of changing education as we know it has the right motives, but that I should start by changing my classroom as I know it and go from there. Basically I need to start smaller. Because there are gaps and needs all around us, and I think maybe I’ve focused too much on what I’m going to do on a larger scale (while make a plan) and haven’t really taken consideration of the needs of people in my community. How often did I engage my students’ needs or ask them for feedback? Or my coworkers for that matter? This idea also ties into the necessity for feedback and clear objectives. Time and time again I heard the leaders talk about fidelity to their companies’ core values or to the principles in the Bible. This was the drive and center from which they lead. What are my core values? ….Tisk Tisk. Gonna work on that. Feedback is a beast. I think being intentional and asking for feedback in a variety of ways is something I also need to work on. I could start by being a better observer and listener. To summarize that mess of thoughts, I learned from the summit that I’ve fallen prey to being a leader whose passion has gotten in the way of my awareness of others.  

Secondly, Don Flow’s business model resonated with me on many levels. He transformed the image of his car dealership by pure determination, values, and his faith. As Fiorina said leaders change the order of things. I must remember that just because that’s how we’ve always done something doesn’t mean that’s how it has to be. I should search for answers to what my vision and purpose in life should be by reading the bible. I think I took a big leap of faith in moving to Peru, and I don’t regret it. Something that has been bothering me all summer is that I didn’t really have a purpose to this adventure beyond it always being a dream (which why has it always been a dream of mine?) I mean I wanted to understand what other nation’s education systems are like and yata yata and I want to get my masters and a PHD and change the world but… how is all this going to fit together. I’ve been half avoiding and half obsessed with figuring this out. The Summit shed some grace and understanding on the issue: I do not have to see the end or the result of my efforts and journey. I don’t have to; life is short. I may never get there. But in everything I do, I want to do it well, for others, serving and loving, “exercising faith, living love, and bringing hope” to others. I do believe that “Every person has more potential than they can imagine. “(Carly Fiorina again) I just hope I don’t get in my own way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

