http://nationalmathandscience.org/newsroom/articles/wheres-logic-not-teaching-algebra

Some times I think it’s easy to look at a kid who wants to be an athlete or hair stylist- those people who could very well avoid using math the rest of their lives- and think “maybe it isn’t important for them to learn algebra.” However, Tom Luce, chairman and founding CEO of the National Math and Science Initiative, has some good points to counter this thinking.

But even so, I’m still on the fence… more so, I am distracted by my excitement about teaching my first Trig lesson tomorrow. I’ll come back and give a more in depth response later. Wish me luck tomorrow.

Link | This entry was posted in Education Reform, My Random Thoughts, News to Share. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No use in teaching algebra you say? Think again.

  1. Tyler Borek says:

    Thanks for the link! Started writing a comment, but I think I’ll turn it into a post out of respect for comment-length conventions 🙂

Leave a Reply

